So Eden Sank To Grief

dawn's promise final.png

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

The quote today isn’t from a song. Instead, I chose a poem–one of my favorites, actually, by the late Robert Frost, called “Nothing Gold Can Stay.”

The thing about this blog is that usually, the song lyrics that you see quoted here have been stuck in my head for days before they appear with a pretty picture in this blog. But I’ve been away for a few days dealing with some family stuff and medical stuff (you know, the usual) and I wasn’t expecting to be away. This meant that I didn’t have things scheduled ahead and I’ve been working to catch myself up, so to speak. One of the first things I wanted to do out of sheer curiosity was to check out the Fantasy Faire sims. Part of my job is a Fantasy Faire blogger is to talk about the sims, not just the merchants there. And so I was teleporting around, and I wasn’t really going in any particular order, and I got to Dawn’s Promise.

And it kind of took my breath away a little bit. In the photo above, I did NOTHING to the clouds, the in-world lighting, windlight, or anything else. I did play with the contrast and the shadows a tiny bit in Photoshop, but that’s it. This was an in-world snapshot that I essentially took maybe two minutes to sharpen outside of the grid and then share with the world. It’s a stunning build, and hands down one of my favorites this year. As I stood here, the little photo block issue I’d been suffering melted away. And then that poem popped into my head. I love Robert Frost, but that is one of my favorites, and I feel like it fits with this image.

There’s something else about this image that kind of inspired something, too, though. I love the way the shadows are hitting everything, and I ended up writing a little flash fiction piece to kind of go along with this picture.

The Queen, injured though she was, managed to pull herself into a standing position. Just outside the shattered window of her throne room, soft hues of pink and red were seeping into the night sky–a sign that the the wraiths, unable to draw their power from the darkness, would soon be forced to make a hasty retreat.

 And there, on the horizon, as if the long-awaited return of the sun was not enough to make her weep with joy, she saw them.

So focused was she on the beautiful sight that she didn’t even hear someone else enter the room. The messengers had made it out. The ships had arrived. Everything would soon be as it was supposed to be.

“My queen!”

She recognized the voice, of course. Elainor was her oldest attendant, appointed to her at birth. She smiled, but her legs buckled beneath her when she tried to turn around, and she had to press her weight against the windowsill for support.

“You’re injured… I’ll call for help.”

“It’s too late for me,” the queen chuckled, shaking her head.

“But…”

“The wraiths are retreating?”

“…Yes.”

She felt a hand on her shoulder, and Elainor was there at the window, one hand around her waist. When the Queen glanced in her direction, her bright green eyes were glistening with tears which seemed to refuse to fall.

“You are being stubborn. Your wounds are too great.”

“Raven’s Perch has sent reinforcements,” the Queen continued, her voice soft, her gaze fixed out the broken window. “See there? On the horizon? Make sure my daughter is there to greet them when they arrive.”

“But…”

“Elainor?”

“Yes, my queen?”

“I’ve missed it. It’s beautiful, isn’t it?”

“What is?”

“… The sun.”

 

Okay, so the idea is that I am going to try to do several posts like this featuring one of the sims and maybe some items from some of the Fantasy Faire merchants in some of these posts, and each Fantasy Faire post is going to continue this story. So this time, we visited Dawn’s Promise, and next time, we’ll be visiting Raven’s Perch!

For more information on the Fantasy Faire, see the website here, or check out the Fairelands junction here to explore all the wonderful sims. The event continues until the 30th of April.

Leave a Reply

