Love, If Your Wings are Broken, Borrow Mine ‘Til Yours Can Open, Too…

if your wings are broken.png

 

Oh, tears make kaleidoscopes
in your eyes
And hurt, I know you’re hurting
but so am I…

It’s almost that time of year. The romance, the chocolate…  Ugh. To be honest, this is one of my least favorite holidays on the calendar, but it’s not because I’m single. I’m single because I’m sensible and I know better than to accept anything less than what I deserve in a partner. I haven’t found that yet. Perhaps one day I will, but my viewpoints on that have nothing to do with my disdain for this holiday.

Here’s the thing: This is a holiday that has been bastardized for years, capitalized upon by card-makers, candy-makers, jewelry-makers. Some of us are literally conditioned to expect our significant other to go “all-out” on Valentine’s Day. Hell, it’s not even technically V-Day yet, and still, all across my feed I see women already plotting the revenge they plan to take if their man doesn’t empty his bank account and surprise her with twelve-dozen roses, a candle-lit dinner, and a day at the spa.

What about the other 364 days of the year? If we love someone, should we not be showing them how much we love them every single day? Why must we relegate our beautiful surprises and wonderful declarations of love and devotion to one day of the year? And why do some of us actually feel like we are entitled to these things? Love is a gift, and it is perhaps the biggest gift that you could possibly give to another person. People are scared. Some of them have been hurt, or betrayed, or worse. When someone opens their heart to you, that is their gift, and it is one hell of a gift.

The celebration of love should not be a consumer holiday. It should be an every day occurrence.

Perhaps I’m jaded because I’m single. I have been hurt, and cried, and lost myself in someone else before, and it’s terrifying, and amazing and dizzying. I have also been there (and had people there for me) to “pick up the pieces” so to speak, when things go horribly wrong. Love is complicated. It’s beautiful, and it’s complicated, and it can be scary.

If you have it, celebrate it. Every day. Stand by the person you love, the person who loves you, and show them every day how special they truly are–because they are special. Love is special. Always remember that.

But… You’re here for the pretty pictures and awesome clothes, right?

[Shape][Mine]
[Head][Lelutka][Simone Mesh Head (v2.2)]
[Skin][Glam Affair @ Collabor88][Angelina (America]
[Body][Slink][Slink Physique (v2.8)]
[Hands][Vista Animations][Bento ProHands Fem]
[Hair][enVOGUE Hairstyle Studio][Jacquelyn (Light Reds)]
[Lips][Glam Affair (Available @ Lelutka Main Store][Lipstick Set 2]
[Eyeshadow][Glam Affair (Available @ Lelutka Main Store][Eyes Makeup Set 1]
[Wings][Remarkable Oblivion][Eternity Wings (Lust)]
[Lingerie][Kenny Rolands @ Cosmopolitan][Ciara (red)]
[Pose][Image Essentials][Hand Heart AO Companion (Bento)]
[Inspiration Tune][Rachel Platten – Stand By You]

Leave a Reply

