On Top of the Roof, the Air is So Cold and So Calm…

on-top-of-the-roof-the-air-is-so-cold-and-so-calm

I scream into the night for you,
“Don’t make it true;
don’t jump!”
The lights will not guide you through.
They’re deceiving you.
Don’t jump!
Don’t let memories go
of me and you…
The world is down there out of view.
Please don’t jump…

So, here’s a random Nova history lesson behind the song choice for tonight’s blog. I have always been really into foreign languages. I’m fluent enough in Japanese and German that I can generally get myself around and understand things pretty well. But back in the day, as we all must, I had to start somewhere. My German teacher at the time suggested that we listen to music in German to better understand not only how sentences were put together, but to garner an appreciation for the language beyond the simple fact that we were learning it in school.

And thus, I discovered Tokio Hotel. Back when I started listening to them, they were young… and I mean young. They were probably eleven. They’re a bit older now and have released several (fabulous, I think) albums…each of which has some real gems on it. Their lead singer translates their lyrics into English, and the words I’ve quoted above are not a direct translation of the original version, but both are absolutely beautiful, and as much as this song seems sad, it also has a message of hope and love in it that just has me going back to it all the time.

I was on a Tokio Hotel song-listening binge when I got the idea for this photo. Please feel free to check it out in Flickr for the full-sized version. I believe it’s around 6k pixels in length after being cropped, and you should have a bit of a better view. I’m wearing a new release from Wicca’s Wardrobe for the Feb 2017 On9 event, and the Valentine Pumps you can find at Slipper Originals–their contribution to the “Love is in the Air” hunt.

Want more details?

[Shape][Mine]
[Head][Lelutka][Simone Mesh Head (v2.2)]
[Skin][Glam Affair @ Collabor88][Angelina (America]
[Body][Slink][Slink Physique (v2.8)]
[Hands][Vista Animations][Bento ProHands Fem]
[Feet][Slink][AvEnhance Female Feet (high)]
[Hair][enVOGUE Hairstyle Studio][Jacquelyn (Light Reds)]
[Dress][Wicca’s Wardrobe @ On9][Melanie (Red Roses)]
[Shoes][Slipper Originals][Valentine Pumps (Love is in the Air Hunt)]
[Pose][Del May*][Avalanche]
[Location][Gates of Melancholy Sim]
[Inspiration Tune][Tokio Hotel – Don’t Jump]

*The pose was edited using the Animare HUD. Edits were made specifically to the arms to reposition them more outward so that they were visible from the angle the picture was taken in.

Leave a Reply

