Nothing Left of Yesterday…

Nothing Left of Yesterday.png

 

Shatter every window ’til it’s all blown away.
Every brick, every board, every slamming door blown away.
‘Til there’s nothing left standing…

I know I have this awesome new format going, and I love telling you guys stories to go with these photos. And usually they’re fiction, but today, I’m going to talk about something true. Last night, my home state was devastated by over 40 tornadoes. My county suffered almost 20% of the total hits for the entire state, and my city was 50% of that.

It’s so strange. Earlier that day, I’d actually been complaining to my Mother that I was feeling a bit depressed and I wished so much that Mother Nature would give us even a little bit of sunshine to brighten the day. Instead, I spent the day locked inside the basement, listening to the wind howl and the lightning strike so close that I thought that surely, it had struck our house, and even if one of the four tornadoes down in my town didn’t manage to hit our block, the house was almost certainly on fire…

It wasn’t. And I’m fine. In fact, it’s somewhat surreal. My street is fine, apart from the fact that we didn’t get power back until this afternoon. A couple blocks down, however? Well, the park where I spent my childhood summers is unrecognizable. Trees that were undoubtedly hundreds of years old have been uprooted as though they were nothing more than twigs. Several buildings and homes were completely leveled. Among them, my Mom’s friend, who lost both his home and his business in yesterday’s storms. Yesterday, I watched an eighty-year-old man sit on a tree that had fallen through his roof and cry. I listened to my Mother on the phone before the storms began. First, it was:

“Wow, look at that black cloud. What is that?” And then “Oh god. It’s the tornado. It’s not in ____ (where the news was saying it was). It’s here. It’s coming right at us.” Then her phone cut off, and there was several minutes of nothing. She was inside the only bathroom in a glass front building. My phone died, and as I was sitting in the basement with my Mom’s friend, we were getting texts from Mom like, “Stay safe. Don’t come Out. I love you guys.”

Mom is okay. Miraculously, we all are. Despite four tornadoes ripping through my town yesterday, there have been no fatalities, and only 10-15 minor injuries reported. People have lost their homes, their material possessions… and the city that I knew so well growing up looks completely foreign, like a bomb went off. In some areas of town, there is still no power. In some areas of town, there is nothing left.

But everyone is okay, and we can rebuild. And that’s what really matters.

[Shape][Mine]
[Skin][((=alterego=))][Dionne (Neutre)]
[Hands][Slink][AvEnhance Hands (Elegant)]
[Eyes]IKON][Sunrise Eyes (Azure Light)]
[Lashes][*Mon Cheri*][Falsies – Mesh Lashes]
[Face][Madrid Solo][Hustle (Blush, Moles, Freckles)]
[Lips][Zibska][Plias Lips #5]
[Eyeshadow][Zibska][Arlie Eye Makeup #15]
[Hair][*ARGRACE*][Haruka – Light Brown]
[Dress][The Annex (on Marketplace)][Ashley Dress (Mint)]
[Pose][ProPose][Back 8]
[Location][Gates of Melancholy][storm details added via Photoshop do not exist on sim]
[Inspiration Tune][Carrie Underwood – Blown Away]

Leave a Reply

