Don’t Let Me Get Me

rayne zibska blog final.png

Everyday I fight a war against the mirror
I can’t take the person starin’ back at me
I’m a hazard to myself

It has been a really eventful couple days… Weeks? Months? Years? It’s been eventful for a while around here. We’ll just say that.

Today is the eighth anniversary of the death of my Nana, who we lost to an infection after a lung cancer diagnosis. I have been through a lot, and I struggle with a lot, but I could always talk to my Nana about all of it. My Mom and I have always been close, but my Nana and I were closer. She helped me work through so much when I was younger. Always positive. Always ready with a joke to make me laugh when I needed it. Always there to offer words of encouragement.

She was one hell of an amazing woman. That’s all I can say about that.

I also know that rather than mourn, she’d probably want me to celebrate. In fact, she’d probably kick my butt if she knew I was going on about this whole thing. I figured that focusing on my blog would help me keep my hands busy. Mom took off for the evening, so I’m just sitting here.

I chose to wear this outfit from RAYNE Couture because it’s bright and happy and I love the flowered skirt.My Nana always loved flowers, and unlike the rest of the women in my family who could easily kill a cactus by simply looking at it sideways, she always had a flourishing garden full of beautiful flowers. Even though I had no clue what I was doing, she’d always invite me to kneel in the dirt with her, help her pull weeds, help her water, help her plant things. She was especially fond of the ones that were brightly colored. She taught me a lot of coping techniques as I was struggling with disability and self-esteem issues just by talking to me, and now I want to talk about her.

You should never forget those people that have really made an impact in your life. Family, friends, or random strangers… Good or bad, they taught you something, and you learned and grew as a person.

Thanks, Nana. We miss you every day.

 

But…

I suppose you all are here for the fashion, right? Want the details?

Of course you do.

[Shape][Mine]
[Skin][((=alterego=))][Dionne (Neutre)]
[Hands][Slink][AvEnhance Hands (Elegant)]
[Eyes]IKON][Sunrise Eyes (Azure Light)]
[Eyeshadow][Kodaijin Makeup @ ReVAMPED][Green – Muted]
[Lashes][*Mon Cheri*][Falsies – Mesh Lashes]
[Hair][RunAway][Robin Hair (Browns)]
[Face][Madrid Solo][Hustle (Blush, Moles, Freckles)]
[Lips][Zibska @ Uber][Nava Lips #1]
[Teeth][PXL][OpenMouth Pro Basic]
[Nails][Nailed It!][Raw Nostalgia Set – Dusty Rose]
[Jewelry][Zibska @ Vintage Fair (link coming soon)][Celestine Set]
[Outfit][RAYNE @ .PENUMBRA SS 2016 FW][Scarborough (mustard)]
[Inspiration Tune][P!nk – Don’t Let Me Get Me]

Leave a Reply

