My Field of Paper Flowers

test.png

 

Don’t say I’m out of touch
With this rampant chaos – your reality
I know well what lies beyond my sleeping refuge
The nightmare I built my own world to escape…

So, this week has been kind of rough. In fact, the last couple weeks have been pretty rough… in real life AND Second Life. I think, if you ask any one Second Life user, they had a reason for joining SL. For some of us it was a recommendation from a friend about some interesting role-play. For others, a chance to build things on a platform where we can truly create our own little world. For others? The chance to experience things that we wouldn’t otherwise get to experience in our “real” worlds.

We all had some kind of goal when we came here.

The truth of the matter is that regardless of why we came here, regardless of what we tell ourselves, the people that we meet here and the things that we do here do affect us. One of the draws of Second Life is that if we have a bad day, we can simply log out. Despite the fact that this is, in essence, a very involved game, we can still get angry. We can still get upset. We can still get our feelings hurt and our hearts broken. In a game-world where you communicate mostly through text, words can be misunderstood. Context can be misinterpreted. And sometimes? Sometimes, that really, really sucks.

I am disabled in real life, and I am one of those people that uses Second Life to meet people and experience new things. I’ve met so many people that I love dearly. So sometimes, when I have a bad day in SL, it’s kind of crushing. In my time in world, I’ve learned so many things. SO many. And I love the experiences I’ve managed to get under my belt.

About a year ago, at the suggestion of a dear friend, I jumped sort of head-first into the world of modeling in Second Life. Considering the fact that I can’t even wear flip-flops in real life, much less strut around in heels, I figured that exploring the world of modeling in Second Life would give me the chance to emulate several experiences I wouldn’t get to experience in real life.

There are goals we have in Second Life on the whole, and then there are goals we have within our individual niche worlds in Second Life. In performance-dance land, I’d like to win an Avi’s Choice Award one day. In designer-land, I’d like to eventually start producing my own custom meshes. In model-land? In model-land, my goals are similar to the goals of many who decide to try their hand at strutting their stuff on the runway. I’ve got a blogger’s bucket list (another suggestion from a friend) that I’ve gotten to nick a few wish-list sponsors from this year. And one day? One day, I’d like to walk in the Miss Virtual World Pageant.

And recently? Recently, I managed to get a bit closer to that goal. Recently, I found out that I am Miss Virtual Tuscany in the upcoming Miss Virtual Italy competition. The winner of the competition will represent Italy in the upcoming MVW competition, and I am so excited to see where this leads.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who has cheered me on, everyone who has offered a helping hand, everyone who has coached me through a frustration or shared a tip or trick to help make things a bit easier. We should all help each other like this. I love you all for the friendship and the tutelage that you have offered me. You know who you are.

Wish me luck. When you reach for the stars, there are so many wonderful possibilities, perhaps even more so in our little imaginary world.

Details?

[Shape][Mine]
[Skin][((=alterego=))][Daya (Caramel)]
[Hands][Slink][AvEnhance Hands (Elegant)]
[Eyes]IKON][Sunrise Eyes (Azure Light)]
[Hair][::Exile::][Like Lovers Do (Marone)]
[Face][Madrid Solo][Hustle (Blush, Moles, Freckles)]
[Lips][Zibska]Plais Lips #4 – Available at SKIN FAIR]
[Mouth][PXL][Open Mouth Pro Basic]
[Jewelry][Lazuri][Cocoa Island Set]
[Sunglasses][M&M Style][Odette Sunglasses]
[Dress][***Aly’s Shop***][Romantic Texture-Change Summer Dress]
[Pose][ProPose]
[Inspiration Tune][Evanescence – Imaginary]

Leave a Reply

