You Either Stand, or…

You Fall.

Hopefully I’m not going to do that today, but what I am going to do is a bit unorthodox as far as modeling blogs go. Y’all are used to seeing pretty pictures and gushing about how awesome something looks. I’m going to take a minute and gush about how awesomely a couple things move.

Let me explain.

I have said, time and again, that I was a dancer before I was a model. And I think in recent weeks, I’ve forgotten that. Not only that, but I realized that I missed dancing, in many capacities.

Unfortunately, a recent bout of the plague (read: some unknown illness that has been making my life hell for the last couple weeks), I missed the first show I was on the docket to do in quite a few weeks. Sorry to the ladies and gents of Nior Neverland Cabaret. I love you guys and all my other dancing buddies more than I can say.

ANYWAY, so I realized I missed dancing, yeah? So what did I do? Why, of course I did the craziest thing of ever! I signed up for three exhibitions and a competition in Gor, threw my name back into the hat for several places I danced regularly at before, and then I stared at this blog and thought, “How can I do something fun with this in my fashion blog, hmmmm?”

Ladies and gentlemen, I apologize for the grainy-ness of this video. See, this tends to happen when I dance, because I have to throw my graphics down way low and then pray to the SL gods for cooperation. I do the same thing when I model on the runway, of course, because crappy graphics cards and out-dated systems are the pits, but USUALLY you don’t get to see that from my viewpoint. SO… yeah.

Here it is:

 

Now, let me explain. With mesh, sometimes it’s the pits to find something that “works” with most motion-capture dance moves in Second Life. I think, no matter what you use, you’re going to get a little bit of stretching, and you’ll still notice that here. Most of the time, the stranger the shape or the cut of the top/pants/skirt, the more likelihood you’ll have of looking like some kind of strange mesh-alien-glob of doom. That doesn’t really happen much with these pieces, which made me super happy, because I have had a ~thing for both of these lines since I first discovered them a few months ago.

The purple top I got during the Boho Couture Fair in 2015. It says “Breathe,” which, let’s be honest, has pretty much been my mantra. And if you didn’t recognize D-style’s err…style in my jeans, that’s where they’re from. I love love love love the zebra print on the denim. So much love.

Actually, let’s be honest again. I really love zebra print, period.

Anyway, a friend of mine on Facebook shared this song the other day. I guess he was jamming out or something… I don’t know. And I had just about forgotten it existed until I saw it on my timeline, and then I couldn’t get it out of my head. This is what I do with a song when I can’t get it out of my head and I’m able to log into Second Life.

Music is everything.

Music is also how my blind-as-a-bat butt keeps time if I’m doing anything runway related. This is a trick I learned from the lovely Tivi Inglewood, who happens to know from personal experience that I can barely see my own hand in front of my face. This is why I like to practice things. Practice makes perfect, and music helps practice go more smoothly.

I’m going to try to do something like this more often on here, but I’m also going to try to find a smoother way to record my screen, because grainy images suck.

 

Please keep an eye out here for more posts. ReVAMPED, a new monthly event hosted by Models Giving Back, is starting soon. My little store ::Mirror Mirror:: will be participating, as will several other amazing designers. Seriously guys. You gotta check it out. It starts on the 28th, and there’s a few I am DROOLING over waiting to see what they come up with. Just sayin’. Keep your eyes glued here for revamped previews and raves!

 

SinceĀ the main details of my shape/skin/hair have been blogged about a million times before, I’m just going to give you the details you don’t know.

[Top][TRASHED][Breathe – Purple – Boho Couture Fair 2015]
[Jeans][Delirium Style][Slim Jeans Zebra Grey]

The above dance animations come from:
A&M Mocap Animations
AKEYO
MyAnimation
There in Spirit
Studio 4D
Sinewave

[Inspiration Tune][Nelly Furtado – Say it Right]

Pose used at the beginning and the end is (*le gasp!*) NOT from *PosESioN* this time, but rather from *EverGlow*…because I love it and it’s pretty.

Sound off, my musical fashionistas! What’s your favorite jam?

 

Leave a Reply

