Before You Break, You Have to Shed Your Armor…

Nova Ghee 1

I didn’t realize how fast this year was coming to a close until I was talking to my mom today. We were rearranging furniture in my new apartment and I looked up at her and had one of those “Ah ha!”moments, and we kind of laughed about how quickly this year had passed by.

And really, I think we’re both pretty glad it did. It’s been a roller-coaster of mostly downs with a few interesting loopty-loops. Things have really been climbing for us the last couple weeks in particular, and we sat for a minute and talked about the future, and how we don’t want the negativity of this year to affect us next year–how we rose above it, and now it was the past, and that was where it needed to stay.

I think a lot of people find themselves reflecting on the past around this time of year, and I am one of them. The bad things in the past still seem close enough to touch, close enough that they could still hurt me if I let them, but then, I think, that’s what my mom meant earlier–whatever happens, we’re not going to let the bad stuff affect how much fun we have on the ride.

Nova Ghee 2

Okay… So I’m not entirely sure how well the roller-coaster metaphor works here, but I like it, so that’s that.

I’ve definitely been frustrated with the last couple months, with everything that seems to have gone wrong at the last possible second. But I realize something now. I realize that had those things not gone wrong, I wouldn’t be where I am today, and the thing is, as hard as it was to get to this point, as many times as I wanted to pull my own hair out and throw in the towel, I am damn proud of myself, and my family, for coming together and rising up to kick some butt and take some names. It was hard, but I don’t think anything that’s really worth a damn in this world is easy. It was hard, and it was worth it, and I like to think that we are going to be stronger in 2016, that karma will be just a little bit nicer to us.

But the thing is, I don’t know that. I don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow, much less next week, or next month, or next year. So rather than sitting down and telling myself that 2016 is going to be better because I am going to finally give up Coca-cola (fat chance) or I am going to build a better mousetrap or something, I’m going to approach 2016 a little differently.

Nova Ghee 4

I’ve done a lot of thinking today, and I’ve decided something. 2016 is going to be different, not just because it will be another new year, but because I am going to approach it differently than I have before.

My only goals for 2016 are as follows:

1. Live, and love every minute of it.
2. Laugh often.
3. Be the best “me” that I can be.

I think I’ve already got a pretty good start, but I guess we’ll see what 2016 has in store soon, won’t we?

I think, if I had to say I had an anthem for 2016, it would be this. Please give this a listen. It’s got a beautiful message to it, and it’s been one of my favorite songs since it came out. Part of the lyrics in the video are wrong, but unfortunately, this song didn’t come out as an official single in this country, so, no pretty video.

(I will update the list below with proper links when I can get back into SL later. Dealing with some log-in issues right now. Links to ALL of the stores listed below can be found elsewhere in my blog in the meantime. I apologize for the inconvenience)

Shape – Mine
Skin – ^^Swallow^^ Sabry (Peach)
Body – Slink Physique
Hands – Slink AvEnhance Female Hands (Elegant)
Eyes – IKON Sunrise Eyes (Azure Light)
Lips – .:JUMO:. Designs Prestige Lips (Burgundy)
Makeup – Madrid Solo Period Designs “Hustle” (Blush, Moles, Freckles)
Hair – ~Tableau Vivant Sherilyn (Browns Pack)
Top – Ghee FW15 Turtleneck Kit (Aubergine)
Bottoms – Ghee Skinny Jeans (Slate)
Shoes – Ghee Snuggies Boots (Slate)

Leave a Reply

