I Think I’ve Lost My Head…

mesh head 1

Okay, so I’m going to preface this with something we all probably have been able to guess by now: I was a little late getting into the whole spirit of the mesh movement. Yes, I’m calling it a movement. Considering I’ve got friends who can’t live without and and friends who are still trying to keep flexi fashions alive and well, I see it as two sides of a fence. So anyway, I was a little late on the bandwagon as far as mesh is concerned. I didn’t really want to bother with it for the longest time, and then I sort of dove in and decided to give it a shot, and once I figured out the differences and everything, it was all good to go. See, before I started in the modeling world I pretty much spent a good 98% of my time in Second Life dancing — either in Gor or in some of the various cabarets on grid. And the thing is, when it comes to mesh, it definitely works better for certain venues… certain situations, if you will. For example, while mesh bends with the body, if I were to pop on my Barre Hud and twirl around, a mesh skirt wouldn’t move. A flexi skirt would. The technology may be outdated to some who view it from a different angle, but each system still has its merits.

I feel like there are a lot of parallels to this in other instances, too. Any argument, really. But I don’t want to go off on too much of a tangent. My Master is always telling me to slow down and stick to the facts so I don’t lose people. Hopefully I didn’t lose anyone. The point is, in my case, I like to straddle the above-mentioned fence. I love my flexis for dance, and I love my mesh for just about everything else. The only thing I couldn’t get myself on the bandwagon for was the whole mesh head thing.

See, with the mesh bodies in Second Life, you have the ability to use your very own custom shape. Your sliders still work, allowing you to completely customize the body. So Model A and I may both be wearing the latest version of Maitreya’s Lara, or the Slink Physique, but we won’t look like identical twins, because each of us has the ability to customize that body. Mesh heads are different, in that you can’t customize them just yet. Most venues in the modeling world frown upon them because the ability to customize our look is what sets us apart from the other countless models on the grid.

And it was for this reason, and only this reason, that I had yet to even look at one yet.

Well, I think I may have crossed over to the dark side, ladies and gents.

mesh head 3

Meet “Julia,” the new mesh head available from Aimi Skin. I only recently started blogging with Aimi and have absolutely fallen in love with some of their releases. I’d seen a bit of the hype about this head, but hadn’t picked it up for myself, because again, as we all know, my life is a movie-worthy roller-coaster of hilarity and fail right now, and I’ve just been doing my best to hang on for the ride. Soooo I finally think I got my connection fixed to a point where I can do more than sit at my build box and take photos, and what do I do? I nab a review copy of the Julia head, and I sit at my skybox and take photos.

-_-

But bear with me, because I happen to think it’s pretty cute.

You will definitely see me with my own head nice and snug on my shoulders like normal when I’m on the runway, but I might be wearing this one around a bit more when I’m not. The only complaint I have is the same one I had when the mesh head craze started–the lack of customization. I don’t know if that will be happening anytime soon, but in the meantime, go for it anyway. Check it out. Try a demo. See if you end up crossing over to the dark side or not.

mesh head 2

Want the details?

Shape – Mine (except for head and facial features)
Skin – {Aimi} Skin Julia 06 (Almond)
Head – {Aimi} Skin Julia Mesh Head 01
Hair – ::Exile:: Crazy in Love (Marone)
Eyes – IKON Sunrise Eyes (Azure)
Lashes – *MonCheri* Falsies Lashes
Hands – Slink AvEnhance Female Hands (Elegant)
Necklace – *Maxi Gossamer* Pearl Necklace (Single 7 – White)
Top – .Shi Sari Top
Skirt/Tights – Zibska (from the “Libby” Outfit)
High Waist Panties – Gawk! High Waist Panties (Black)
Poses – *PosESioN*

Leave a Reply

