I Graduated!… And Other ~Things…

So, I graduated from Regal Academy today! And I learned a few things. I’m going to share those, because I figure I should spread the wealth. Because wealth is good, right?

1. If you fall off the runway (which I did today), own it. This was advice given to me by Eibhline during one of my classes–advice which I got to put into practice today when, wouldn’t ya know it? I fell off of the runway like a champ. This can be heart-attack-inducing for some models, but Eibs had some good advice. I just kept posing, and people didn’t boo or anything. Nope. They applauded and cheered and whistled and all that fun stuff, and I waited calmly for a TP so that I could change and get on with the show. I had a laugh, and I’m pretty sure a few other people did, but lag happens, especially when your computer is a dinosaur.

2. Make friends. I made a few just from doing the graduation show! When you take classes to become a model in second life, it’s pretty much a given that at some point in your SL modeling career, these same girls are going to be your competition in some way. They’ll be casting for the same shows, or representation by the same agencies. They’ll enter into the same contests. But so what? These girls are wonderful people, and whether you want to admit it or not, they may know a thing or two that you don’t. Trust me. Friends are a good thing. I love all of my friends I’ve made since starting my modeling journey. They’re fabulous people!

3. Don’t sweat it. Stuff is going to happen. Falling off the runway, for instance. Or spending hours working on a styling only to realize a few hours before the show that your pinky finger is sticking into your abdomen, or your collar is eating part of your hair. Regroup, message a friend or two if you need to, and do what you need to do. Just make sure you’re having fun.

(Note: I know some models in SL are really serious business, but I still maintain that if you remember to have fun you’re going to have a much more positive experience overall.)

Now, on to the fun part. Did ya see that picture at the top? I’m still working on my picture taking skills, but that is one of the outfits that I got to wear for graduation today! It’s from GAALL, and it’s the “Sofia” outfit. It comes complete with the cropped fur jacket and pants you see in the picture as well as a matching pair of snake-skin leather heels. I loooved it. The outfit itself has so much attitude, and it was so fabulous all on it’s own. I stayed within the color palette and had fun just trying to make it look as fierce as I felt in it.

The outfit from Gaall wasn’t the only thing I got to model today. The other sponsor for our graduation show was none other than Wicca’s Wardrobe. Please excuse me for a moment while I fangirl and completely lose my mind. Wicca’s Wardrobe has items that are somewhat outside the norm for me, but just like I own a huge chunk of inventory from coldLogic, I would like to own literally just about everything in Wicca’s store that isn’t made for a man. It is fabulous. So fabulous. A few weeks ago, I stopped by the flagship store and found myself staring at one of the gowns I found there. It was called the Katharina Gown.

And today, I got to wear it on the runway.

I am one happy camper. Just look how fabulous I look!

Nova in Katharina 1

Headpiece? Fabulous.
Eye piece? Fabulous.
Wings? Fabulous.
But loook at the dress. Loook at it. I have been absolutely itching to get my hands on this dress for weeks and play with it, and I actually got my chance for the graduation show!

Before I ramble too much more, I would like to thank the Regal Academy for helping me along in this journey, Eibhline for being a lovely person, a wonderful friend and an excellent event organizer, my friends Tiviyah and Ophie for helping me out with a few styling crisis’ from time to time, and of course the fabulous minds behind Gaall and Wicca’s Wardrobe for providing myself and the other graduates today with such fabulous items to show off! That was so much fun. I can’t wait to do it again.

Curious?

Sofia (First Picture):
Shape – Mine
Skin – Glam Affair‘s Zara (Jamaica Tone)
Eyes – Ikon‘s Sunrise Eyes (Azure)
Hands – Slink‘s AvEnhance Female Hands (Elegant)
Feet – Slink‘s AvEnhance Female Feet (High)
Hair – Magika‘s Meadow
Makeup – Madrid Solo‘s Period Designs (Hustle – Blush Only) and The Nudes II (#3)
Jewelry – *League* Wanderer Set (Bracelets and Earrings) ***I don’t have an in-world location for this, but will edit soon.
Outfit – GAALL‘s “Sofia” Outfit (top, pants, heels [compatible with slink high feet])

Katharina (Second Picture):
Shape – Mine
Skin – Glam Affair‘s Zara (India Tone)
Eyes – Ikon‘s Sunrise Eyes (Azure)
Hands – Slink‘s AvEnhance Female Hands (Elegant)
Feet – Slink‘s AvEnhance Female Feet (High)
Hair – Zibska‘s Petra Hair (Black)
Makeup – Face Paint’s “Siren”
Jewelry – Lazuri‘s Enchanted Diamond Set (ring, necklace, bracelet)
Shoes – Slink‘s Gabrielle Heels in Black
Outfit – Wicca’s Wardrobe‘s “Katharina” Gown (Blue Sparkle – headpiece and eyepiece included)

Leave a Reply

